Academic contests


Each year, a maximum of 15 new C. Henry Smith Scholars are named by the university's Special Studies & Honors Committee. C. Henry Smith winners enjoy a fair amount of perks. C. Henry Smith Scholars also participate in regularly scheduled student-faculty seminars. On a more entertaining note, the students have gone to museums and attended plays and concerts as well, based in part on a survey of their interests taken early each fall.



Win cash for an outstanding essay on a literary topic written for a course or independent study at Bluffton. A cash prize of $75 will be awarded for the winning essay. In honor of Naomi Brenneman, professor of English at Bluffton University, 1918-61, alumni and friends have established a fund to recognize the outstanding research and/or interpretive essay on a literary topic.


John D. Unruh Jr. Award
for research projects in the humanities and social sciences
Two $200 awards will be granted


Presently enrolled at Bluffton University. 

Research paper resulting from regular coursework in:


  • English
  • History
  • Language
  • Religion

Social sciences:

  • Criminal justice
  • Psychology
  • Social work
  • Sociology

Submission procedure:

Electronic copy submitted to Alex Sider, history and religion department chair 

Prior to 5 p.m. Monday April 1, 2019

Submissions should indicate the course or program for which the paper was written. 

Award recipients will be announced at the Academic Awards Forum, Tuesday, April 23, 2019.

Contact Alex Sider, 419-358-3281 or for further details