Academic excellence


C. Henry Smith

C. Henry Smith Scholars were among the students recognized at the Academic Awards Forum.

Student scholars take center stage

Bluffton University recognized many of its top students for their academic achievements at the annual Academic Awards and Honors Forum on April 25.

Thirty-one seniors were honored as distinguished scholars in their respective academic areas.

Five seniors were recognized for completion of the Honors Program. They are: Evan Hill, Hilliard, Ohio; Evan Kujawa, Toledo, Ohio; Michael Lindhorst, Lindsey, Ohio; Justin Metsker, Burbank, Ohio; and Deborah Yoder, Listowel, Ontario.

Receiving departmental honors for their independent-study projects were two seniors. Courtney Weekley of Butler, Ohio, for her communication and media project, “To Be a Servant of the Word Rather Than Making the Word Your Servant,” and Deborah Yoder of Listowel, Ontario, for her English project “The Water Collectors.”

Other awards went to:

  • Payton Stephens, Lebanon, Ohio; Aspyn Rafac, Lakeview, Ohio; and Olivia Westcott, Toledo, Ohio, C. Henry Smith Peace Oratorical Awards
  • Macey Thomas, Bowling Green, Ohio; John D. Unruh Jr. Award for exceptional research paper written for humanities
  • Trinity Borgman, Orient, Ohio; John D. Unruh Jr. Award for exceptional research paper written for social sciences
  • Deborah Yoder, Listowel, Ontario; Mary Ann Sullivan Award
  • Bishop Florence, Green Springs, Ohio; Sattler-Keiper Mathematical Research Award
  • Caleb Bell, Rockbridge, Ohio; John Kraft Medical School Award
  • Kelly Bilen, Archbold, Ohio; Meredith Myers, Delphos, Ohio; Jenna Woods, DeGraff, Ohio; and Gabrielle Wooley, Jackson Center, Ohio; Art Show Juror’s Awards of Distinction
  • Rosanna Barber, Bowling Green, Ohio; Gregg Luginbuhl Award for Best of Show
  • Kelly Bilen, Archbold, Ohio; Gregg Luginbuhl Award for Ceramics
  • Sage Coker, Pleasant Hill, Ohio; The President’s Choice Art Show Award
  • Cierra Long, Urbana, Ohio; Jim Satterwhite Award in Peace Scholarship and Activism
  • Lily Tate, Mount Gilead, Ohio; Dr. Elizabeth Hostetler Outstanding Educator Award
  • Sarah Rivera Rios, Comayagua, Honduras; International Student with Highest Scholastic Record
  • Nathaniel DeWeese, Columbus, Ohio; Athlete with Highest Scholastic Record

Concluding the program was the recognition of 35 C. Henry Smith Scholars—16 graduating, 7 continuing and 12 newly elected scholars; and 46 new members of Bluffton’s Pi Delta Society, an honor for seniors with a grade point average of at least 3.75 during their college careers.