Academic awards


Students honored for academic excellence

Bluffton University is recognizing many of its top students for their academic achievements.

Thirty-three seniors were honored as distinguished scholars in their respective academic areas.

Five seniors were recognized for completion of the Honors Program. They are: Aubrey Bartel, of Newton, Kan.; Timothy Bender, of Wellman, Iowa; Alexis Cash, of Gaines, Mich.; Lydia Lugibihl, of Pandora, Ohio; and Michelle Swartley, of Cedar Falls, Iowa.

Receiving departmental honors for their independent-study projects were two seniors. Timothy Bender of Wellman, Iowa, for his history and religion project and Cameron Miller of Grabill, Ind., for his English project.  

Other awards went to:

  • Cameron Miller, Grabill, Ind., the Mary Ann Sullivan Award for an outstanding research and/or interpretive essay on a literary topic.
  • Claire Myree, West Chester, Ohio, the John D. Unruh Award for exceptional research paper written for humanities.
  • Takayla Gadberry, Lockland, Ohio; Alana Holsapple, Greenville, Ohio; and Makenzie Speakman, Carroll, Ohio; the John D. Unruh Award for exceptional research paper written for social sciences.
  • Madison Heckman, Ottawa, Ohio, Creative Writing Award
  • Kirk Kauder, Curtice, Ohio, the Beaver-Falcon Master of Accountancy Scholarship
  • Jarod Siekman, Grove City, Ohio, the 2019 Sattler-Keiper Mathematical Research Award
  • Ryan Oostland, Goshen, Ind,, the 2020 Sattler-Keiper Mathematical Research Award
  • Sydney Cobb, Archbold, Ohio, the Esta Lugibill Dye Award for Excellence in Chemical Science by a Woman
  • Julian LaValle, Jefferson, Ohio, the Instrumental Music Award
  • Caylin Morstadt, Delaware, Ohio, the Dr. Elizabeth Hostetler Outstanding Educator Award
  • Gabe Denecker, Bluffton, Ohio; Claire Myree, West Chester, Ohio; and Olivia Tennefoss, Greenwood, Del., for first, second and third places respectively in the 2020 C. Henry Smith Peace Oratorical Competition
  • Danielle Easterday, Barberton, Ohio, Athlete with the Highest Scholastic Record
  • Sergio Alvarez, Honduras, International Student with the Highest Scholastic Record

Concluding the program was the recognition of four graduating members of Psi Chi National Psychology Honor Society and 40 new members of Bluffton’s Pi Delta Society, an honor for seniors with a grade point average of at least 3.75 during their college careers; and 43 C. Henry Smith Scholars—17 graduating, nine continuing and nine newly elected scholars.