New Faculty/Staff


Bluffton University welcomes new faculty/staff

BLUFFTON, Ohio—A new president, two faculty members and 26 staff members or graduate assistants are joining the Bluffton University community this academic year.

DR. JANE WOOD, president, began her term at Bluffton on July 1. Her inauguration will take place Sept. 28. Wood previously served as vice president of academic affairs and dean at Mount Marty College. She received her Ph.D. and master’s degrees in English literature from the University of Missouri, and has served at Westminster College, Park University, University of Missouri and Baker University. Her experience in higher education includes positions as a tenured faculty member, department chair, academic dean and vice president.

New faculty for the 2018-19 academic year are DR. BO YOUNG KANG, assistant professor of music and director of choral activities; and HEIDI MERCER, assistant professor of social work and field director.

Kang recently completed her doctor of musical arts in choral conducting at the University of Texas at Austin. She holds a master of music degree from Penn State University and has years of experience leading choirs both on and off college campuses. At Bluffton, she will conduct a number of choirs including Camerata Singers, Choral Society and University Chorale. She will also teach classes including music ministry. 

Mercer will serve as an assistant professor of social work. She received her master’s degree in social work at Case Western Reserve University, and spent the next eight years in England working in children and family services. She also does work with Crime Victim Services in Lima where she focuses on the issues of human trafficking. Mercer served as a visiting assistant professor of social work last year.

Staff members new to Bluffton since the beginning of the 2017-18 academic year are: KAYLA BARTLETT, assistant athletic trainer; MATTHEW BURKHOLDER, lead groundskeeper; KEVIN CHRISTIE, admissions counselor; AMANDA DAVIS, academic affairs assistant; AMANDA DEMOINE, head softball coach; SEAN ELVERT, head men’s soccer coach; KEVIN GREGORY, head women’s soccer coach; EVAN HUSS, HVAC technician; KAYLEA JACHNO, head track and field coach and coordinator of cross country/track and field programs; DAWN KREIDER, assistant registrar; SHERI LEATHERMAN, assistant director of adult and graduate studies; HOLLY METZGER, enrollment counselor; JOSHUA RUNDA, assistant football coach; LEAH SCHROEDER, campus visit coordinator; JUDY STEINER, executive assistant to the president; KEVIN WHITE, assistant director of the university event complex. 

New graduate assistants are TREVOR BEERMAN, baseball; CLAIRE CLAY, advancement; JAKE HERMON, football; JANEL HAYES, softball; ASHLEY HIGGINBOTHAM, sports medicine; JACOB MORTON-BLACK, residence life and student involvement; DEVON PRICE, men’s basketball; CRAIG PRINCE, baseball; HUNTER REDMAN, cross country/track; TOVAH WILSON, residence life.