Fall Play Cast List


Bluffton to stage “The Crucible”

Bluffton University will present “The Crucible” by Arthur Miller this fall.

Dr. Melissa Friesen, a professor and chair of art, communication and theatre at Bluffton, will direct the show, being staged at 7:30 p.m., Nov. 2-4 and 2:30 p.m., Nov. 5 in Ramseyer Auditorium in College Hall. Reserved tickets are $8 for adults and $6 for senior citizens (65 and over) and non-Bluffton students. Tickets are available online at http://tickets.bluffton.edu or at the Marbeck Center information desk. For assistance with tickets, call the box office at 419-358-3239.

Accusations of witchcraft in an insular Puritan village lead to paranoia, hysteria and deceit in “The Crucible,” Arthur Miller’s dramatic play about the 1692 Salem witch trials. Written in the early 1950s, the tale also serves as an allegory for Senator Joseph McCarthy’s anti-Communist crusades during the “Red Scare,” and its themes of intolerance, deceit and integrity continue to resonate today.

The major roles and participating students/community members are as follows:

Betty Parris                                         Josie Boehm ’21 of Forest, Ohio

Rev. Samuel Parris                            Brandon Rhodes of Bluffton, Ohio

Tituba                                                  Victoria Wilson ’21 of Liberty Center, Ohio

Abigail Williams                                   Meghan Gibson ’19 of Goshen, Ind.

Susanna Walcott                                 Bridgette Montgomery ’21 of Piqua, Ohio

Ann Putnam, Sarah Good                  Ciara Gale ’20 of Tiskilwa, Ill.

Thomas Putnam                                 Greg Koviak ’18 of Clyde, Ohio

Mercy Lewis                                       Heather McConnaughey ’20 of Pionner, Ohio

Mary Warren                                       Brooke Ryman ’18 of Troy, Ohio

John Proctor                                       Jared Hurst ’19 of Sharon, Pa.

Rebecca Nurse, Francis Nurse          Tori Sinift ’20 of Marysville, Ohio

Giles Corey                                         LaJohn Beasley ’20 of Columbus, Ohio

Rev. John Hale                                   Christopher Brenner ’18 of Defiance, Ohio

Elizabeth Proctor                                Brista Drake ’19 of Richwood, Ohio

Ezekial Cheever                                 Taylor Everding ’21 of Fostoria, Ohio

John Willard                                        Ryan Mustard of Beaverdam, Ohio

Judge Hathorne                                  Alex Parker ’16 of Findlay, Ohio

Deputy Gov. Danforth                        Benjamin Black ’19 of Deshler, Ohio

Erika Byler ’18, Shipshewana, Ind., is the stage manager. Mervin Schrock of Findlay, Ohio, and Brittany Steele-Mustard of Beaverdam, Ohio, are the technical director and costume designer, respectively.


-Jena O’Brien, public relations student assistant