Academics

Many academic departments employ student assistants. Opportunities are listed below in alphabetical order.

Arts & Lecture assistant  
Supervisor: Dawn Kreider  
Contact: kreiderd@bluffton.edu  

The arts & lecture assistant provides logistical and promotional support for all Arts and Lecture events.

 

 

Academic Affairs assistant  
Supervisor: Elaine Suderman  
Contact: sudermane@bluffton.edu  

The Academic Affairs assistant provides clerical support for academic affairs and cross-cultural programs.

Assistant  
Supervisor: Angela Montel  
Contact: montela@bluffton.edu  

The biology assistant will assist the professor in ways such as grading papers or assisting with set-up/clean-up as well as during the labs. The assistant may also be asked to tutor students in lower-level classes.

Assistant  
Supervisor: Charles Daws  
Contact: dawsc@bluffton.edu  

The chemistry assistant will assist the professor in ways such as grading papers or assisting with set-up/clean-up as well as during the labs. The assistant may also be asked to tutor students in lower-level classes.

Assistant  
Supervisor: Michael Barrett  
Contact: barrettm@bluffton.edu  
The student assistant will assist the criminal justice faculty with needs related to class preparation, student activities and on-going departmental research projects.

Assistant  
Supervisor: Gary Schiefer  
Contact: schieferg@bluffton.edu  
The department assistant is responsible for assisting the department faculty in any way that is needed. They will also do desk related jobs.
 

Tutor  
Supervisor: Gary Schiefer  
Contact: schieferg@bluffton.edu  
The department tutor is responsible for tutoring students and grading assignments.

Assistant  
Supervisor: Cynthia Bandish  
Contact: bandishc@bluffton.edu  
The position of English department assistant is a combination of clerical duties and research responsibilities. The assistant will work with the professor so that academic needs of the student are met.


Assistant  
Supervisor: Perry Bush  
Contact: bushp@bluffton.edu  
The history assistant is responsible for general clerical duties. They will also be asked to assist their supervisor in any other way possible.

Assistant  
Supervisor: Dr. Martina Cucchiara  
Contact:  cucchiaram@bluffton.edu  
This position provides administrative support for the honors program.

Lab assistant  
Supervisor: Jacqui Slinger  
Contact: slingerj@bluffton.edu  
The LRC lab assistant will help the director of the LRC in various functions. This includes managing human and material resources needed for the LRC to operate.
 

Student Manager  
Supervisor: Jacqui Slinger  
Contact: slingerj@bluffton.edu  
The LRC student manager is responsible for coordinating and assisting with numerous LRC projects and activities. They will also perform clerical duties.
 

Tutor  
Supervisor: Jacqui Slinger  
Contact: slingerj@bluffton.edu  
The LRC tutor will provide support and assistance to any student desiring to improve academic success. The tutor will help the students learn and master the course content by working with them on a one-to-one basis for the entire semester or until the student drops tutorial services. They will tutor students in basic study skills and various general education courses.

Assistant  
Supervisor: Darryl Nester  
Contact: nesterd@bluffton.edu  
Student assistants in mathematics must be able to perform a variety of tasks that require an aptitude for and experience with college mathematics courses. Department assistants will grade papers and tutor students.

Assistant  
Supervisor: Deb Myers  
Contact: myersd@bluffton.edu  
The assistants are responsible for various duties within the department.

Mediation assistant  
Supervisor:  Alex Sider  
Contact: sidera@bluffton.edu  
The peace & conflict studies assistant will work directly with the director of peace & conflict studies in order to support the existing academic program and to enhance the program’s profile on campus and in the community.

Assistant  
Supervisor: Charles Daws  
Contact: dawsc@bluffton.edu  
The physics department assistant will assist the professor in ways such as grading papers or assisting with set-up/clean-up as well as during the labs. The assistant may also be asked to tutor students in lower-level classes.

Assistant  
Supervisor: Deana Barthlow-Potkanowica  
Contact: barthlowd@bluffton.edu  
The department assistant is responsible for assisting the psychology department in any way possible. They will need to perform general clerical duties, as well as provide tutoring.

Assistant  
Supervisor: Randy Keeler  
Contact: keelerr@bluffton.edu  
The religion department student assistant is responsible for performing office duties. They will also be asked to collate and mail internal memos related to coursework.

Assistant  
Supervisor: Walt Paquin  
Contact: paquinw@bluffton.edu  
The social work assistant is responsible for assisting the social work faculty in the work of the social work program. They will be asked to type and prepare documents, perform desk duties, keep records and miscellaneous tasks.

Assistant  
Supervisor: Michael Barrett  
Contact: barrettm@bluffton.edu  
The sociology assistant is responsible for assisting the sociology faculty in any way possible. They will be asked to perform desk duties, as well as record grades.

Assistant  
Supervisor: Cynthia Bandish  
Contact: bandishc@bluffton.edu  
The Spanish assistant is responsible for clerical duties and tutoring students. They will also supervise the Spanish table.
 

Tutor  
Supervisor: Cynthia Bandish  
Contact: bandishc@bluffton.edu  
The Spanish tutor performs jobs that will assist faculty and Spanish professors. They will also explain class material to students with difficulties.

Tutor  
Supervisor: Cynthia Bandish  
Contact: bandishc@bluffton.edu  
The writing center tutor is responsible for preparing the Writing Center, maintaining records, providing tutoring and keeping statistics of usage.
Top