Academic awards


Bluffton to present academic awards

Bluffton University will host its annual Academic Awards Forum at 11 a.m. Tuesday, April 23, in Yoder Recital Hall. The event is free and open to the public.

Students to be honored include graduating seniors in the Honors Program, C. Henry Smith Scholars and Pi Delta inductees, as well as departmental award recipients, who are recognized as distinguished senior scholars.

Among the other academic awards are: in business, the Financial Executive International Award; in chemistry, the CRC Press Chemistry Achievement Award; in education, the Elizabeth Hostetler Outstanding Educator Award; in music, a choral award; and in art, four juror’s awards of distinction and the Boehr Award for Best of Show, all from the Juried Student Exhibition and including cash prizes.

Also presented to students will be the John D. Unruh Award for the best research paper in the humanities and social sciences, the C. Henry Smith Peace Oratorical Contest awards—from the April 10 contest—and the Jim Satterwhite Award in Peace Scholarship and Activism.